Creating a morning routine….

With only 24 hours in each day, they say we should split our time equally between work, rest and play. Before I went on holiday just recently I was thinking about the past few weeks, and I was not quite sure how this delicate balance had become so out of whack. There was definitely no play, not a great deal of sleep and a hell of a lot of work. So what is the answer? How do we regain a little bit of balance, in a world that has no intention of slowing down? How do we create space for the things that matter and that we crave the most?

Part of the secret I believe lies in the morning routine…


Over the past few months I have been carving out a morning routine for myself. It is by no means perfect, but when I make the effort to live on purpose and create space for myself it really does set the tone for the rest of the day.

So how do I do it? Well, my morning routine starts at night….


While I make dinner each night, I prepare all my food for the next day at work. This is such an important step as it means I am nourishing myself instead of reaching for coffee or sugar mid afternoon.


So what do I prepare….

+ Breakfast- either a Green Smoothie or Omelette (I’ll blend the smoothie and make the omelette and pop in the fridge for the morning)
+ Lunch- A big salad with greens, tomatoes, red cabbage and cucumber then I’ll add some protein either quinoa or tuna or salmon or sometimes both!
+ Afternoon Tea- Bliss Balls or almond butter and corn thins

Creating a morning routine....

My food prep for the day!

After my food is ready and in the fridge I’ll prepare my bag and clothes for the next day so I am ready to head straight outside as soon as I wake up.

My Morning Routine….

  • 5:15am Wake Up and meditate outside for 10-15 minutes
  • 5:20am Drink warm water with lemon and apple cider vinegar
  •  6:00am Movement

My routine changes each day depending on how I am feel. In the past I really pushed myself to do something strenuous most mornings, and by the end of the week I’d be exhausted. I’ve really tried to start listening to my body of late and doing what feels right, whether that be walking, yoga, a run or weights.

People often ask do I get tired waking up so early? Short answer, YES! But I find when I don’t wake up early and I go straight from home to work that two things happen. Firstly I am in a bad mood/funk all morning because I’ve missed that precious time and ‘space’ for me, and secondly I’m more tired than when I wake up early, and it take until 9am for me brain to function.

The mornings for me are a precious time. Time to be out in the fresh air, to catch up withCreating a morning routine.... friends (yes there are others out there that know the secret morning routine), to think and create space before starting the day.

 

So how will you create your own morning routine and wake up & be AWESOME? Try small changes to start with, set yourself a goal to wake up early one morning this week and go for a walk in the fresh air! Prepare a nourishing days worth of food while you’re cooking dinner. Meditate for 5 minutes and notice how you feel! It all starts with small steps to create a nourishing routine xx 

This entry was posted in MINDSET SHIFT, WELLNESS and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment