The Detox Diaries…..Week 1

detoxDe-tox: To rid the body of toxic substances

As much as I think I choose the healthiest option available when it comes to nourishing my body….there are times when I slip up and things start to creep into my diet that I KNOW aren’t nourishing me….

Over the past few weeks/ month I have been letting a few more little ‘naughty treats’ slide through….combined with a not so healthy addiction to ‘healthy treats’ (yes sugar free chocolate is NOT really an everyday food!)…and as as result I’m not feeling as vibrant and energetic as I think I could be…..

Now over the years I’ve read loads about different detoxes and have tried smaller 3-5 day stints (things like juice detoxes) however I have never committed to anything longer than a week….always finding an excuse as to why I couldn’t stick to it (birthdays, engagements, work dinners etc….) But this time I’m curious about how I will feel….When I commit to this 100%? When I simply refuse something I’m offered at a party? When I finally ditch my sugar-free chocolate addiction? When I publicly declare my intention? When I create the space to cleanse my body? 

I KNOW I am going to feel INCREDIBLE…..

So for the next four weeks I’m going to share my journey with you…as I am guided by my naturopath Emma Sutherland through her online Community DetoxWhat I am loving so far about this detox, is how Emma has created a beautiful supportive online Community….a place where ‘detoxees’ are guided through each week with meal plans, shopping lists, live chats and are supported by a team of experts who are there to answer any questions you may have….(if you are thinking this might be for you, you can still sign up until midnight tonight!)

So what does Detox involve?

When you mention the word detox people automatically think about what they are going to have to give up or miss out on….and yes the thought did cross my mind that I won’t be able to have any treats for four weeks but I am staying focused on how AMAZING I will feel….

So WHAT’S OUT on detox? Alcohol, Red Meat, Gluten, Sugar, Dairy and Processed Foods….yep all those nasty things that create toxins and imbalances in our bodies….

greens detoxand WHAT’S IN….loads of organic vegetables and fruit, gluten free breads and grains (think quinoa, aramanth…), goats cheese, sheep’s yoghurt, organic white meats, fresh seafood, herbs and spices…..

So what will my daily food diary look like?….

Breakfast: Quinoa Porridge with stewed apple & sheep’s yoghurt

Lunch: Delicious warming soups & stews, roasted veggies and quinoa

Dinner: Slow cooked meats, vegetables and soups

Snacks: Herbal teas, dips and vegetables, juices and bliss ballsIMG_1180

I have spent quite a few hours this weekend preparing myself for the week ahead, stocking up on fresh produce and cooking lots of different meals! Going into week 1 I’m feeling organised and excited and can’t wait to share my progress with you all.

So who’s with me? How are you nourishing yourself over the next week so that you feel VIBRANT and BURSTING WITH ENERGY? 

This entry was posted in MINDSET SHIFT, NUTRITION, WELLNESS and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a comment