How to make HOMEMADE MUESLI……

Breakfast is by far my favourite meal of the day! I truly believe that what you put into your mouth first thing in the morning has the power to set up your entire day right..(or wrong in some cases). How to make HOMEMADE MUESLI......

Now a lot of people say to me, ‘oh but I’m too busy’ or ‘I don’t have time in the mornings to eat a proper breakfast’… so they head into work, and grab a coffee and toast/muffin on the way and start their day with a cocktail of caffeine, highly processed sugar ladened food with almost little to no nutritional or nourishing value.

If you’re looking to start your day off well, homemade muesli is a beautiful nourishing meal that is so versatile. Making a big batch at home means that YOU control what is going into your body and is a much cheaper (tastier) alternative to the overpriced sugared products available at the supermarket….

Often on the weekend, I’ll make up a big jar full of muesli to last me the week at work, and like my GREEN smoothies I’ll experiment with different ingredients! 


Here is a list of the ingredients I use in my muesli…How to make HOMEMADE MUESLI......


Choose your base

+ Rolled Oats 
+ For Gluten Free options you could substitute Quinoa Flakes/Puffs, Millet or Kamut puffs (all available at health food stores).

Then add a little or a lot of any combination of the following…

Good Fats

+ Pepitas
+ Sunflower Seeds
+ Nuts- I like to use almonds and macadamias
+ Coconut flakes
+ LSA
+ Linseeds/ Flaxseeds
+ Chia Seeds

A sweetener if you like… 

+ Goji Berries (try and avoid dried fruits like sultanas and apricots as they are full of sugar)

Add some spice

+ Cinnamon
+ All Spice
+ Ginger

My Homemade Muesli RecipeIMG_0971

What you need…..

+ 2 cups organic rolled oats

+ 1/2 cup activated almonds chopped

+ 1/2 cup sunflower seeds and pepitas

+ 1/4 cup coconut flakes

+ 2 Tbls. Goji Berries

+ 1 Tbls. Chia Seeds

+ 1 Tbls. Flaxseeds

+ Generous amount of cinnamon

What you do….

In a bowl combine all ingredients and mix until combined. Store in an airtight container and enjoy!

The best part about muesli is that you can enjoy it in a few ways…

Keep it simple….

Simply enjoy the muesli as it is with some milk and fruit…I like to top mine with berries and almond milk

Make it into Bircher Muesli…

This is one of my regular weekday breakfasts and tastes amazing! Of an evening I’ll place my muesli into a jar or container for work and I’ll fill it with muesli, then mix in half milk and half yoghurt (I like to add almond and organic full fat yoghurt). Mix the muesli, milk and yoghurt together and pop it into the fridge overnight…

When you wake up you’ll find that the oats have swelled up and formed a beautiful bircher style breakfast. Simple stir to combine and add whatever topping you like.


Make it into toasted muesli…

Once you’ve combined all the ingredients in a bowl, spread it onto a tray lined with grease proof paper and add a fews slivers of organic butter (and honey if you like it sweet) and bake in a moderate oven for 10-15 minutes

So start getting creative in the kitchen and start nourishing yourself each morning with homemade muesli.

This entry was posted in NUTRITION, WELLNESS and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

1 Response to How to make HOMEMADE MUESLI……

  1. Nicola Tweed says:

    I'm with you breakfast really has the power to make or break your day! Breakfast on the run never makes for a successful day. Wouldn't it be great if breakfast was like dinner, a family time to sit and chat about how you'd like the day to unfold. Peaceful, relaxed setting you up for a good day. Lovely post, thank you! x

Leave a comment